Adventures in Fourth of July Festivities!

I challenge to find someone who doesn’t love the fourth of July. It’s a birthday party for our whole country. We disagree about a lot of stuff but we are united in our love of birthday parties and this is the biggest one!

How do you celebrate the fourth?

Me? I love the beach. Living in St. Petersburg, FL I am surrounded by awesome beaches. So the beach on the Fourth is my favorite choice!

 We hit Reddington Shores last weekend and it was beautiful. The water was so clear and the beach was gorgeous.

IMG_6358  IMG_6349

Seriously, isn’t that view insane? (No filtering, no editing.)

I am glad we went when we did since I won’t be able to hit the beach or the pool for the next couple of weeks. I will be spending the fourth as far as away from water as possible. Why? I am laid up with a boot. (It’s not a big deal just need to rest my foot so it can heal and I don’t really live a life where I can sit all day with my foot up thus the boot!) Don’t worry there are tons of other water-free ways to celebrate!

To celebrate the fourth far from the water, I got my nails done. I know, right, I am wild and out of control. I was feeling sorry for myself about my water hiatus and decided to treat myself. I googled fourth inspired nails… there were so many!

Fourth-Of-July-Nail-Art-Designs-Ideas-Trends-Stickers-4th-Of-July-Nails-4 july-nails-1215775 fourth-of-july-nail-20 fourth-of-july-nail-44 15-American-Flag-Nail-Art-Designs-Ideas-Trends-Stickers-2014-4th-Of-July-Nails-3

People get intense about their patriotic nails. I loved looking at the options. I settled on classic red with an accent nail:

IMG_6440

I know they are silly. But I have to say, I have got a lot of joy out of looking down and seeing my patriotic nails!
If you are looking for tips on cute outfits for the fourth, check out my post from last year. I love this post and would wear all of the outfits again in a heartbeat!

https://adventuresinpolkadots.wordpress.com/2015/07/04/adventures-in-fourth-of-july-fashion/

When it comes to celebrating special holidays like the fourth, I have a couple of no-brainer tips:

  1. Celebrate with people you enjoy. Whether it’s friends or family, you need to make sure you spend your day with someone who makes you laugh. I am a big fan of this lady… IMG_4991
  2. Be comfortable. I mean you can look cute and festive without being blistered or cramping from crazy heels. God brought Birkenstocks into this world. So wear them! IMG_9198
  3. Be kind to yourself. I know we are eating healthy, maybe even dieting, or cleansing… but this day, just take a break and relax. Eat a hot dog. Drink a cold drink. Be in the moment and celebrate.

 IMG_5961

I hope you have a great fourth! Enjoy the holiday! XOXO

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment