Adventures in Dallas!

A few months ago, I got a Facebook message from the husband of one my friends from college. He wanted to know if I would come to Dallas as a surprise for my friend’s birthday. I said YES! I bought a flight and let the anticipation build. When I went away to college, I was so nervous. The only thing I wanted was a chance to truly be myself when I went away to school. On my very first night of college, I met Amelia.

206882_502576116771_3500_n

I have to admit that from the first moment she intimidated the hell out of me. But by the end of our very first night, Amelia and I were friends and we have been friends for the last 11 years. We haven’t always been geographically close but every time we get together, it’s like no time has passed at all. So when I got the call I jumped at the chance…

IMG_9683

Because, these two (dressed as Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen) should be reunited.

578322_555244144621_1040167708_n

We always have a great time. She always makes me laugh with her sharp wit and Texas charm. Best of all, Amelia has always supported me and lifted me up. She’s always made me feel like me — just as am — is enough! Even when my face was ALLLLLL pimples and my style was alllllll Birkenstocks all the time.

This is all the intro (believe it or not) to the first in a series of blog posts about my trip to Texas!

So of course I had a great time!  The posts won’t be any sort of logical order (after all, it’s me writing them and we know logic really isn’t my thing). So I thought I would start with the birthday party proper. Amelia’s husband, Brooks, gathered up all of her family and friends and we gathered together for a birthday dinner. We had an incredible time. I really enjoyed meeting all of her friends and family.

iphone 45 104

Here’s Brooks and Amelia…

iphone 45 124

Then Amelia with me and her other out of town friend, Fiona.

This picture of Lynnsey, Amelia, and I laughing was the best!

photo (17)

Finally, we got this girl some cake! (I love that you can see Sue in the background cheering her on!)

iphone 45 120

One of the highlights of a memorable night was the surprise cotton candy vendor we happened upon at the bar we went to after dinner! Amelia and I both partook of the treat and right when the clock struck midnight on her birthday, we had cotton candy in hand!

iphone 45 122  photo (16)

So much more to come on the trip to Dallas… can’t wait to share it with you!

Leave a Reply

