What makes a good outfit tick?

Lately I have been talking about inspiration. Today’s topic is the “how to” of putting together a great outfit. To do that, I took a couple of sweet outfits from the people around me and break them down. Interested? Check out this installment of “Anatomy of an Outfit.” I think we will be seeing more of these types of posts. My goal is to empower you to not try new things and build great outfits.

Here is my friend Aliceย rocking a sweet look at work:

photo 1 (9)

She nailed the pieces. She told me they were all from thrifting. I especially loved the way she balanced her accessories. The outfit has good bones — bold color + pattern + fun jacket. But what makes it pop is the perfectly matched and not too over the top accessories:
photo (16)

And she keeps it funky and sassy with the shoes…

photo 2 (10)

Way to go, Alice!

I was inspired by here to tryย my own (only slightly) bohemian look…

photo 3 (7)

I added my new Stella and Dot tusk necklace, stacked with a classic initial necklace (a la Mindy)mindys-yellow-lemon-print-dress-magenta-cardigan2-600x351

photo 5 (6) photo 4 (6)

And finished the look with my ever reliable classic brown wedges.

 

Here’s another great look from the office brought to you by my friend, Adrian. She showed us how to work the white BIG TIME. photo 2 (8)I like what she did with the use of bold color with the white and keeping her accessories clean and minimal. It makes the outfit feel clean and light.

I was nervous about white heels. I have this thing where when I wear white shoes, I always feel like my feet look extra big. (See what I mean?)ย iphone 30 128

But Adrian let me try her’s on and they looked fab so I think white heels might be on my shopping list for the summer. This outfit pairs bold color with a neutral and makes it all work with the coordinating heels.

Finally, my cousin, Erica, sent me this great pic of her outfit:

iphone 26 190

With this outfit, she shows how the scrunched sleeves of the jacket balance the simple dress. She really takes it to the next level with her fierce booties. It makes the outfit jazzy, young, and professional.

Dressing with style isn’t a science. It’s not as easy as using a checklist. Instead, it’s about balance and proportion. When in doubt, you can always use the old Coco Chanel rule:

coco-chanel-quote-fashion

2 thoughts on “What makes a good outfit tick?

Leave a Reply

