Project Journal – Handmade invitations

So one of my very best friends is getting married in a few short weeks. And her sister and I are throwing her a bridal shower. I decided that I would make the invitations to the shower myself. I love crafting and anyone who knows me, knows I am famous for my sweat shops (what my friends call the times when I ask them to help me with crafts). Like my mother before me, I always have a project in the works and this one was a real pleasure. Come along for the journey:

Iphone 24 024 Iphone 24 025

These are the mock ups I made using office supplies… one trip to Micheal’s and a survey of supplies and it’s time to get to work!

Iphone 24 028

The ever present can of Diet Coke in the background… as well as my list book. It’s tricky to stay organized.

Iphone 24 033

I used a punch to get uniform flower shapes of different complimentary prints.

Iphone 24 034

And a combination of stamps (love the sweet mason jar one, right?) and color printed paper with the invitation details.

Iphone 24 038 Iphone 24 040

I also stamped the envelopes with a flower! Can’t have too many flowers, right?

Iphone 24 041 Iphone 24 032

I think the mason jar stamp I borrowed from a friend really makes the invitations! One of my friends liked it so much that she asked me to use it to make her Save the Dates. So stay tuned for those appearing on the blog!

Iphone 24 030

I used these little stickers to raise up the banner and add some dimension to the invitations — in addition to the gems and pearls in the flower centers.

Iphone 24 026

Finished product and a finished project! (It’s safe to post this since the bride has already got her invitation!)

Iphone 24 027 Iphone 24 042

Mom enjoying what she insisted on calling her “craft” beer (you since we were crafting!).

She’s my mom. That’s a fact and I couldn’t have made this without her. It feels great to finish the project and get the invitations in the mail. There’s nothing quite like homemade cards, right?

One thought on “Project Journal – Handmade invitations

Leave a Reply

