Dinner for Two (2nd Edition)

A couple of days ago, I reblogged “18 Things Everyone Should Start Making Time For Again” and it really inspired me…

Here’s what the other blog suggested:

4. Cooking a nice meal just for the sake of doing so. It really trains you to defy your need for instant gratification and of course puts you in touch with something that’s very human and can be lovely if done right.

Inspired to shed my need for instant gratification, I designed a menu for the evening based on what I already knew I had and what would be easy to grab at the store on the way home. I used this recipe from Martha Stewart as a jumping off point:

http://www.marthastewart.com/1016125/spicy-pork-parsnips-and-sweet-potatoes?center=0&gallery=1041326&slide=%3Fxsc%3Dsoc_pin_2013_11_13_Food_Fall+Recipes+and+Ideas_F&1016125&crlt.pid=camp.HnalIpZMX0Fu

2bca040a6b086989cf757e2cd4fbca42

But I made the recipe my own… so here’s how I did it.

I already had butternut squash and sweet potatoes so I cut them up and tossed them with olive oil, brown sugar, cayenne pepper, and minced ginger. Taking that mixture, I spread it on a baking sheet covered in foil and left a place in the center for the pork tenderloin. I applied (weird verb choice) salt and pepper to the whole dish and then baked it for 20 minutes at 450 degrees. The recipe called for 475 but my over runs hot. I made a bed out of spinach and arugula dressed it with some lemon juice and then moved on to whipping up some quinoa.

It was really delicious all together.

Here’s a pic:

image (23)

For dessert, I whipped up some stuffed apples. I say whipped up because I really did. I grabbed some apples and removed their cores. Then I mashed up a scoop of brown sugar, a handful of chopped pecans, and three slices of butter – then stuffed them in the apples and baked the apples for 25 minutes at 350 degrees. They turn out beautifully!!!

image (24)

Then right before I sat down to eat, Sara called and asked if I had plans for dinner. I told her hop in your car! She’s came on over and we shared a lovely meal for two.

I wholeheartedly recommend this recipe. Both dishes turned out fantastically and were easy and delicious!

Leave a Reply

