Don’t be afraid to try…

I feel like whenever a new trend or fashion craze hits the stores we all get a little nervous. Can I do peplums? Would I look weird  in neon? Or, the real pitfall for us ladies, I don’t think my body will look right in those colored pants.

We are only as limited as we allow ourselves to be. When I shop with someone (in my personal shopper capacity), I ask for their trust and, really almost more importantly, their sense of adventure — the willingness to try on whatever I hand them. Who cares if it looks ridiculous, because what if it looks amazing? It’s hard not to go into the dressing room and be weighed down by insecurities or all of the perceived imperfections of our bodies and looks. I have been plus sized my whole life and I long to fit into regular clothes and be “regular.” I shop with my skinny friends, beautiful women who are size zeros, fours, sixes, eights, twelves, fourteens, whatever, and do you know what all of them have in common? Every single one of them says things like “I am fat right now” or “I feel bloated now, I don’t want to try on clothes” or “I wish I could get rid of this!” (inevitably while pulling skin off their bones and pointing to the alleged unsightly “fat”). Every single one of us has things about our bodies we would change. But our bodies are just that ours. And we have to own them. So when shopping for clothes, shop for who you are. Not just in terms of personal style but shop for the body you have.

And try not to be so hard on yourself. We all have bad days and every so often we see pictures of ourselves we don’t mind. Shoot for more of the latter and less of the former. One way to be more fearless is to embrace trendiness. You don’t have to go crazy or spend a ton of money. Have you been to Target? I mean come on!

If you follow this blog you know that I went to bed Sunday with peplums on the mind. I think my first instinct with peplum was: Oooh, helllll no. My widest part is my middle. And fitted on my rear? Are you crazy? Then the trend just wouldn’t die. Finally, I caved. I tried on a dress with a peplum. (Yeah, followed my own advice!) I loved it. I thought that silhouette really accentuated my curves. I feel sexier and confident and if I am being honest (which I generally endeavor to be… especially to you my legions of followers), that’s a new feeling.

photo 1 (1)

I discovered a passion for neon last summer when it got hot. Neon is too bold for a professional workplace. I am not working out. I don’t want to stand out that much, I am more comfortable in black, that’s too much color for me… stop me if any of this is you! It’s not. It’s about what’s the right color for you! My VIP Bestie put together this outfit and rocked it hard. You can see her confidence jump out of the pic. It’s the right bold neon for her! For me, it’s a chartreuse number from Old Navy. I wear this dress and I get compliments from strangers. A lady in line with me at Starbucks told me that the color was meant for me and that I glowed. I am not saying this to brag (she says while dusting off her shoulders), I am telling you this as proof that sometimes outside the comfort zone is where it is at!!

photo (23)photo (4)

Y’all, we are not models. It’s truth time. But we are unique and beautiful in our own rights. Don’t be afraid to strut a little. Bold pants are a blast — they dress the heck up out of a black T and they can be sassy and fun. Don’t just take my word for it:

photo 1 (8) photo 2 (9)

I am stepping down off my soap box now. But I do hope you are all inspired to be a little more brave tomorrow. Send pics!

4 thoughts on “Don’t be afraid to try…

  1. Yay neon and confidence! You always motivate me to step out of my comfort zone. Love this post!

  2. Pingback: 100th Post! | Adventures in Polka Dots!

Leave a Reply

