Easy Dinner – Vegetarian Special

Tonight I had a bit of a girls night with two lovely ladies from work. We had a devil of a time deciding what to eat. One of us was vegetarian, one has a weak appetite, and the other has difficulties making decisions (that’s me). I was standing in the produce section at Publix after counting out what I believed to be 15, but turned out to be 14 lemons, and it occurred to me that we should have pasta primavera. It’s easy and you can throw whatever odds and ends of vegetables you might have laying around.

I brought squash and zucchini, P contributed the sauce broccoli, asparagus and kale, and T brought pasta and an onion. The vegetables were sauteed with olive oil and spices of your choosing tossed with neutral red sauce and a can of tomatoes. P thought we should have used tomato paste instead so that it wouldn’t be as liquidy. I thought it was delicious. This is a great easy, healthy, and delicious. However, perhaps best of all, this dish uses the leftover veggies that can be difficult to place in a menu. We opened a bottle of wine, ate delicious veggie pasta, and enjoyed an impromptu ladies night.

What an easy meal! Sometimes the simplest ideas really are the best…

DSCN4060 DSCN4061 DSCN4078 DSCN4079 DSCN4080

 

For dessert, the simple theme was kept alive with Reese’s Puff treats. They could not be easier to make (and to eat).

Melt 3 tablespoons of butter in a large pot over medium and then add a small bag of small marshmallows and stir until melted. Then remove from the heat. Just add 6 cups or I like to eye ball it at about 4/5’s of a box of Reese’s Puffs. Stir is all together and lay out in a dish coated in butter or butter spray. Coat your hands with that same butter and pat down the top of the bars. Let sit for a couple of hours and then cut it into delicious squares. Best part, pretty guilt free. And did I mention how easy they are to make. I had never made rice krispie treats until this weekend. Since then I have been totally inspired. I have made rice krispie treats, smores treats, and now, Reese’s Puff treats. So much marshmallowy goodness. You should try it too. I guarantee that these are crowd pleasers. (I got the Reese’s Puffs BOGO so this was also the cheapest dessert ever!)

You don’t have to eat fancy to be delicious. I rate this girls night a success!

Leave a Reply

